Domestic ViolenceStrategic Defense Designed for Positive Results
Fort Bend County
Domestic Violence Lawyer
Arrested for Domestic Violence in the Greater Houston Area?
Were you accused of domestic violence? Were you arrested after an altercation with a family member? If so, you could be charged with one of three crimes: domestic assault, aggravated domestic assault, or continuous violence against the family.
Although there is no specific statute for domestic violence in Texas, an assault will be considered “family violence” if the victim is:
- Your current or former spouse
- Your child, step-child or foster child
- Someone with whom you share a home
- Someone that you are or were dating
- The other parent of your child
- One of your family members
Contact our Fort Bend County domestic violence defense attorney online
or call now to schedule your free consultation: (713) 766-1445.
Being arrested for domestic violence is serious. If you are facing charges for family violence in Texas, you should speak with a Fort Bend County criminal lawyer at The Sims Law Firm, PLLC. With experience as a former prosecutor, Brandon Sims provides the aggressive defense you need.
How Domestic Assault Is Defined Under the Law
You could be charged with domestic assault if you are accused of assaulting a family member, household member, or dating partner. Apart from your relationship to the victim, all of the elements for domestic assault are the same as simple assault—which includes harming another person, threatening to harm another person, or touching another person in an offensive manner.
If you have no prior domestic assault convictions, you would be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. This offense is punishable by up to one year in jail and $4,000 in fines. If you have a prior conviction on your record, you could be charged with a third degree felony. This offense is punishable by two to 10 years in state prison and $10,000 in fines.
The Penalties for Aggravated Domestic Assault
If you have been accused of committing an aggravated assault against your spouse, family member, or household member, you could be charged with aggravated domestic assault. While similar to domestic assault, your charges could be elevated if you intentionally or recklessly cause serious bodily injury to the victim or use or exhibit a weapon during the assault.
The penalties for aggravated domestic assault include:
- Two to twenty years in prison
- Maximum of $10,000 in fines
- Payment of victim restitution
If a deadly weapon was used and the victim was seriously injured, you could be charged with a first degree felony.
If you are convicted, you could face up to 99 years in prison and $10,000 in fines.
Continued Violence Against the Family
In Texas, you could also be charged with the crime of “continuous violence against the family” if you have been accused of committing two domestic assaults in the span of 12 months. What makes this particularly tricky is that you don’t actually have to be arrested or convicted of either offense. It also doesn’t have to be proven that the two assaults were committed against the same victim. Under state law, this offense is a third degree felony, which means that you could face up to 10 years in prison and $4,000 in fines if you are convicted.
Get the Aggressive Criminal Defense That You Need
If you have been charged with domestic violence, you have no time to waste. The sooner you contact a criminal defense attorney in Fort Bend County, the better it could be for your case. Our lawyer has over 15 years of legal experience and knows what it takes to provide effective and aggressive representation. Protect your future by scheduling a free initial consultation with The Sims Law Firm, PLLC today.
When you hire us, you won’t be treated like just another number – we treat all of our clients like they are our own family. Call today or contact us online.
- Dismissed Money Laundering (>=$2,500<$30K)
- Dismissed Felony Possession of Controlled Substance (OR 2-A >=4G<400G)
- Dismissed day of trial Felon in Possession of Firearm
- Dismissed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child under the age of 14
- Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury
Attorney Brandon Sims Will Handle Your Case From Start to Finish
Over 15 Years of Exclusively Practicing Criminal Law
Experienced Former Prosecutor
Handled Over a Thousand Cases
“He went out of his way and always kept a professional and positive attitude. I really feel like I had a friend fighting for me.”- Devin
“Professional, caring, and hard working.”- Jonathyn
“I can honestly say Mr. Brandon is a very honest, hardworking & caring person. He always took the time to explain things I never felt like I was rushed on anything. If I needed anything I always knew I can call or message him and he would respond immedi”- Lizbeth
“Words can not explain how grateful I am for Mr. Sims's hard work and dedication to my case. I never thought I would need a "Defense attorney" but when I did, I am grateful Mr. Sim's was there every step of the way.”- Vivian
“Brandon is great with communication, he is very honest and straightforward. He does not mislead to make one hopeful or distressed about a situation. He simply lays out the facts for you.”- Victor
If you hesitate to hire an attorney, it may become more difficult to obtain favorable evidence and/or locate witnesses that can testify on your behalf. The sooner you contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC the sooner we can discuss your charges and get started on your defense.
We are here to help you get through this difficult time, so don't wait to give us a call. Your first consultation with us is free!