Fort Bend County Child Endangerment Attorney
Child Endangerment in the Greater Houston Area
Have you recently been charged with child endangerment in Texas? If so,
you should contact
The Sims Law Firm, PLLC as soon as possible. Our Fort Bend County child endangerment defense attorney,
Brandon Sims, has over 13 years of legal experience and an extensive background
helping people in situations like yours. As a former prosecutor, he has
a comprehensive understanding of both sides of the courtroom to provide
our clients with an aggressive and effective defense to counter the prosecution’s
case against you.
Contact our offices today – We offer free consultations.
Texas Child Endangerment Law
Texas Penal Code § 22.041, any parent or guardian who exposes a child under the age of 15 to an
act that risks imminent death, bodily harm, or physical or mental impairment
has committed child endangerment. Depending on your circumstance, the
law could find the act intentional, reckless, or criminally negligent.
The following are several types of child endangerment offenses in Texas:
- Leaving a child in an unattended car
- Driving while under the influence with a child
- Serving alcohol to an underage driver
- Hiring a child care provider with a known history of sexual offenses
- Leaving handguns within the reach of children
- Failure to report suspected child abuse
- Neglectful supervision
While caring for the child, failing to prevent a child from ingesting a
Manufacture, possess, or even give another person methamphetamine while
a child is present
For the Texas courts to convict an individual of child endanger, they are
required to prove the caregiver intentionally, knowingly or recklessly
meant to expose the child to danger. The courts use the example of what
a reasonable person could find dangerous as a baseline for their analysis
of the situation.
Penalties for Child Endangerment
While a few child endangerment offenses are considered misdemeanors, many
are charged as felonies in Texas.
For example, leaving a child unsupervised in a vehicle is a Class C misdemeanor
is punishable by a maximum fine of $500. Getting arrested for a DWI with
a child passenger is a state jail felony, which carries a state jail sentence
of up to two years, a maximum fine of $10,000, and driver’s license
suspension for up to 10 days.
Abandoning a child younger than 15 years old with the intent of returning
is a state jail felony. However, abandoning a child with no intent of
returning is a third-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment for up
to 10 years and a maximum fine of $10,000. Furthermore, abandoning a child
in a place that places him/her in imminent danger is a second-degree felony,
which carries a maximum prison term of 20 years and a fine no more than $10,000.
Placing a child in imminent danger due to criminal negligence or recklessness
is a state jail felony. This include placing a child in a situation in
which the ingestion, possession, or manufacturing of controlled substances occurs.
If the courts convict a parent of committing child endangerment, the Texas
courts could strip them of their parental rights. If this happens one
parent will retain parental rights for the child, if there is no other
parent available, then the courts will appoint a new guardian for the
child. Until a new guardian can be found.
Do Not Lose Hope. We Are Here to Help.
When you are facing charges of child endangerment, we are here to tell
your side of the story and fight for your rights. To fight against a conviction,
you need the experienced legal advocacy of a Fort Bend child endangerment
defense lawyer. Your future and freedom rest in the balance.
Contact us today for a free consultation.