Theft CrimesStrategic Defense Designed for Positive Results
Fort Bend County
Theft Crime Lawyer
Call (713) 766-1445 for Aggressive & Dedicated Defense!
Start your defense in Fort Bend County with a free consultation. At The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, we can discuss strategies to avoid jail and conviction!
Whether you have been arrested for shoplifting, theft, burglary, or robbery, you need an experienced advocate that will fight on your behalf.
At The Sims Law Firm, PLLC you will find a former felony prosecutor turned criminal defense lawyer, a legal advocate who understands the ins and outs of the criminal justice system, and a person who can use this insight to achieve favorable results for you.
Why Choose Our Fort Bend County Theft Crime Attorney?
- Significant trial experience on your side
- Insights of a former Texas prosecutor
- Proven defense results
- Free consultation to start your case
When it comes to a strong defense, nothing is better than experience, dedication, and skilled legal representation.
When you hire The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, you can benefit from personalized service and aggressive, dedicated defense that's backed by trial experience and a thorough understanding of the justice system.
What Are the Penalties for a Theft Crime in Texas?
In the outline of potential penalties below, not all the penalties are equally severe, but having any theft conviction on your permanent record can cause serious trouble in any future run-ins with the law, or even ruin a job or housing application. Whatever the type of charge you face—your future is at stake.
A Burglary of a Building charge is classified as a state jail felony where the range of punishment is not less than 180 days in the county jail and no more than 24 months in a state jail facility and up to a $10,000 fine.
A Burglary of a Habitation charge is classified as a Second Degree Felony where the range of punishment is not less than 2 years and or more than 20 years in the penitentiary and up to a $10,000 fine.
Misdemeanor Theft Charges
Class C misdemeanor theft
This charge is for theft involving less than $100 worth of services or property, and is punishable by a $500 fine.
Class B misdemeanor theft
For theft of at least $100 but less than $750 worth of services or property, and is punishable by up to180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine.
Class A misdemeanor theft
For theft of at least $750 but less than $2500 worth of services or property, and is punishable by up to 365 days in jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
Felony Theft Charges
State jail felony theft
This charge can cover theft of $2,500 or more to stealing under $30,000. This can entail 180 days to two years in state jail and a $10,000 fine.
Third degree felony theft
Involving at least $30,000 to less than $150,000, you could face two to ten years' incarceration and a $10,000 fine.
Second degree felony theft
Stealing $150,000 or more but less than $300,000, and the penalties could include two to 20 years' imprisonment and a $10,000 fine.
If a theft offense involves $300,000 or more, this would be a first-degree felony theft, which could lead to a five - to 99-year prison sentence on top of a $10,000 fine.
Discuss Your Defense with an Experienced Greater Houston Area Theft Lawyer
When your freedom and future are threatened, you cannot afford to delay. Our attorney has over 15 years of experience and can discuss your potential defenses during a free consultation.
Don't hesitate to schedule your free, confidential case evaluation in Fort Bend County. Get started on your defense when you call (713) 766-1445 today!
By hiring Fort Bend County truck accident lawyers from The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, you can rest assured that your case is in the best hands. Their Fort Bend County truck accident lawyers have years of experience and provide knowledgeable legal representation to Fort Bend County residents. They will work hard to ensure your rights are protected and you receive the compensation you need for your Fort Bend County truck accident. Contact them today to get started on your case.
- Dismissed Money Laundering (>=$2,500<$30K)
- Dismissed Felony Possession of Controlled Substance (OR 2-A >=4G<400G)
- Dismissed day of trial Felon in Possession of Firearm
- Dismissed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child under the age of 14
- Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury
Attorney Brandon Sims Will Handle Your Case From Start to Finish
Over 15 Years of Exclusively Practicing Criminal Law
Experienced Former Prosecutor
Handled Over a Thousand Cases
If you hesitate to hire an attorney, it may become more difficult to obtain favorable evidence and/or locate witnesses that can testify on your behalf. The sooner you contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC the sooner we can discuss your charges and get started on your defense.
When you choose Attorney Brandon Sims, he will strategically anticipate and explain how the prosecution will present their case and plan accordingly in crafting your defense. Our firm believes that all individuals have the right to legal representation and that they are innocent until proven otherwise.
We are here to help you get through this difficult time. Don't wait to give our Fort Bend County criminal defense attorney a call at (713) 766-1445 to schedule your initial, confidential consultation.