First Time DWIStrategic Defense Designed for Positive Results
First Time DWI Charges
in Fort Bend County
Skilled DWI Defense Lawyer in the Greater Houston Area
While the penalties for a first time DWI charge are significantly less than for a second or third offense, they are still very serious and incredibly inconvenient.
If you’re convicted of driving while intoxicated, the penalties you could face include:
- License suspension
- Jail time
- And more
If you’ve been arrested for DWI, you should contact an experienced Fort Bend County DWI attorney as soon as possible. Many people think that the penalties will be less if they simply plead guilty, but this is not the case. When you retain Sims Law Firm, you will have over 15 years of experience on your side. We can build a powerful defense to help you keep your license and your freedom.
Hire a skilled DWI attorney in Fort Bend County who will fight for your best interests.
Contact Sims Law Firm today for a free case evaluation.
What Are the Consequences of a First Time DWI Conviction?
In Texas, DWI is a serious offense and is enforced very aggressively by law enforcement officers. If a police officer believes that you are driving while intoxicated from alcohol or drugs, you may be arrested under suspicion of DWI.
If you’re convicted of DWI, you could face all of the following punishments:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Fines of up to $2,000
- A 2-year suspension of your driver’s license
- Enrollment in a DWI education or intervention program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- Annual driver’s license fees of $2,000 for 3 years
An experienced Fort Bend criminal defense attorney can help reduce or eliminate these penalties. Call Sims Law Firm today at (713) 766-1445 or contact us online for experienced representation.
What Are Common Defenses Against First Time DWI Charges?
It’s important to remember that a DWI arrest in Texas is actually a “suspicion of DWI” arrest. Like any other crime, the burden is on the prosecution to prove that you’re guilty. A skilled criminal defense lawyer will attempt to counter any incriminating evidence presented by the prosecution.
Some of the most common DWI defenses include:
- Rebutting the results of a Breathalyzer test
- Refuting the results of a blood BAC test
- Disputing the legality of the initial arrest
Don’t Plead Guilty to DWI Charges. Call Us Today!
If you’re facing a potential DWI conviction, it’s critical to contact an experienced DWI lawyer in Fort Bend County. When you retain Sims Law Firm, our Fort Bend criminal defense lawyer will look at the unique details of your case, and will craft an effective defense strategy with your expectations and goals in mind.
Don’t fight DWI charges alone. Contact our firm for skilled counsel from a Fort Bend first DWI lawyer.
- Dismissed Money Laundering (>=$2,500<$30K)
- Dismissed Felony Possession of Controlled Substance (OR 2-A >=4G<400G)
- Dismissed day of trial Felon in Possession of Firearm
- Dismissed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child under the age of 14
- Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury
Attorney Brandon Sims Will Handle Your Case From Start to Finish
Over 15 Years of Exclusively Practicing Criminal Law
Experienced Former Prosecutor
Handled Over a Thousand Cases
If you hesitate to hire an attorney, it may become more difficult to obtain favorable evidence and/or locate witnesses that can testify on your behalf. The sooner you contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC the sooner we can discuss your charges and get started on your defense.
We are here to help you get through this difficult time, so don't wait to give us a call to schedule your initial, confidential consultation.