FeloniesStrategic Defense Designed for Positive Results
Fort Bend County Felony Defense Attorney
Experienced Defense Against Felony Crimes in The Greater Houston Area
Factors the government considers when making a sentencing recommendation to a judge or jury include:
- Whether damage created by the offense resulted in serious injury or death;
- Whether the crime targeted children or the elderly;
- Whether the community and court system’s attitude toward the specific crime;
- Whether the alleged offender has prior convictions;
- Whether the alleged offender is currently on parole or probation; and/or
- Whether the alleged offender used a deadly weapon while committing the crime.
An alleged offender may also be held civilly liable to any victims of their crime in a separate lawsuit. For example, an offender could be required to pay a victim for any physical injuries or discomfort that resulted in out-of-pocket medical expenses.
Are you facing a felony charge in Texas? Call The Sims Law Firm, PLLC today at (713) 766-1445 or contact us online to meet with our felony defense lawyer in Fort Bend County!
First Degree Felony in Texas
A first degree felony is an extremely serious allegation that carries a penalty range from 5 years to life in prison, a fine of no less than $10,000.
To be charged with a first-degree felony, a person must commit:
- aggravated assault of a public servant;
- aggravated kidnapping;
- aggravated robbery;
- aggravated sexual assault;
- attempted murder;
- arson of a residence;
- burglary with intent to commit a felony;
- inducing serious harm to a child, elderly person, or disabled person;
- escaping from police custody (if bodily injury occurs);
- solicitation of murder; or
- sex trafficking of a person under the age of 14.
Second Degree Felony in Texas
The penalties for a second degree felony are 2 to 20 years in prison, a possible fine of no more than $10,000, and possible community supervision.
To be charged with a second degree felony, a person must commit:
- aggravated assault;
- evasion of arrest;
- improper relationship between teacher and student;
- indecent contact with a child;
- solicitation of a minor under the age of 14;
- possession of 50 to 2,000 pounds of marijuana;
- sexual assault;
- stalking (second offense or more);
- trafficking of a person over the age of 14.
Third Degree Felony in Texas
The penalties for a third degree felony are 2 to 10 years in prison, a possible fine of no more than $10,000, and possible community supervision.
To be charged with a third degree felony, a person must commit:
- aggravated perjury;
- jumping bail to avoid a felony arrest;
- use of a deadly weapon;
- escape from custody resulting in a felony arrest;
- indecent exposure to a minor;
- intoxication-assisted assault;
- possession of a firearm by a convicted felon;
- DWI (third offense);
- evidence tampering; or
- violation of a protective order (third offense).
What are the Penalties for a State Jail Felony?
The penalties for a state jail felony are between 6 -24 months in a state jail facility and up to a $10,000.00 fine.
Contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC today to schedule a FREE consultation!
- Dismissed Money Laundering (>=$2,500<$30K)
- Dismissed Felony Possession of Controlled Substance (OR 2-A >=4G<400G)
- Dismissed day of trial Felon in Possession of Firearm
- Dismissed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child under the age of 14
- Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury
Attorney Brandon Sims Will Handle Your Case From Start to Finish
Over 15 Years of Exclusively Practicing Criminal Law
Experienced Former Prosecutor
Handled Over a Thousand Cases
If you were arrested for a felony offense, don’t panic. Contact our highly skilled and passionate attorney today. With over 15 years of legal experience, he knows the system, the processes, and the law. Since his switch from criminal prosecutor to criminal defense, Attorney Brandon Sims has aggressively fought for the rights of hundreds of individuals accused of crimes, and he’s ready to do the same for you.