MisdemeanorsStrategic Defense Designed for Positive Results
Misdemeanor Defense Lawyer in Fort Bend County
Representing the Criminally Accused in The Greater Houston Area
A misdemeanor is a crime that holds more weight than a citation, but less than a felony. Although they can vary in severity, punishments are generally less harsh than that of a felony. In fact, the most severe punish for a misdemeanor offense is up to 1 year in county jail and up to a $4,000.00 fine.
A large range of crimes are classified as misdemeanors and separated by ‘classes’ ranging from Class A (the most serious) to Class C (the least serious). Even though a misdemeanor is not as serious as a felony, a conviction can still impact your life. You may find it more difficult to receive higher education, find a job, or even obtain an occupational license or firearm.
Are you facing a misdemeanor charge in Houston? Call The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, today at (713) 766-1445 or contact us online to schedule a meeting with our misdemeanor defense attorney in Fort Bend.
What is the Punishment for a Class A Misdemeanor?
In Texas, a Class A misdemeanor can result in up to 1 year in county jail and/or a fine up to $4,000, or up to 2 years of community supervision.
Class A Misdemeanor offenses include:
- assault resulting in bodily injury;
- jumping bail from a misdemeanor offense;
- burglary of a machine;
- cruelty to animals;
- DWI (second offense);
- escape from custody from a misdemeanor offense;
- evading arrest on foot;
- interfering with a 911 call;
- possession of 2 to 4 ounces of marijuana;
- promoting gambling;
- public lewdness;
- resisting arrest;
- stealing a check;
- unlawfully carrying a weapon; or
- violating a protective order.
What is the Punishment for a Class B Misdemeanor?
In Texas, a Class B Misdemeanor can result in up to 180 days in county jail and/or a fine of no more than $2,000, or up to 2 years of community supervision.
Class B Misdemeanor offenses include:
- criminal trespassing;
- creating a false report to a police officer;
- manufacturing a false degree;
- indecent exposure;
- possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana;
- inciting a riot;
- calling 911 under false pretenses; or
- creating a terrorist threat.
What is the Punishment for a Class C Misdemeanor?
In Texas, a Class C Misdemeanor can result in a fine that does not exceed $500.
Class C Misdemeanor offenses include:
- disorderly conduct;
- writing a bad check;
- leaving a child unattended in a vehicle;
- being a minor in possession of alcohol
- possessing alcohol in a vehicle;
- public intoxication; or
- using laser pointers.
Let Our Firm Fight For You
Attorney Brandon Sims has been dedicated to defending the rights of the accused since 2014. He will aggressively fight for your rights and do everything in his power to ensure your side is completely heard by the court.
Contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, today for a FREE consultation!
- Dismissed Money Laundering (>=$2,500<$30K)
- Dismissed Felony Possession of Controlled Substance (OR 2-A >=4G<400G)
- Dismissed day of trial Felon in Possession of Firearm
- Dismissed Continuous Sexual Abuse of a Child under the age of 14
- Dismissed Assault Causing Bodily Injury
Attorney Brandon Sims Will Handle Your Case From Start to Finish
Over 15 Years of Exclusively Practicing Criminal Law
Experienced Former Prosecutor
Handled Over a Thousand Cases
If you hesitate to hire an attorney, it may become more difficult to obtain favorable evidence and/or locate witnesses that can testify on your behalf. The sooner you contact The Sims Law Firm, PLLC the sooner we can discuss your charges and get started on your defense.
We are here to help you get through this difficult time, so don't wait to give us a call. Your first consultation with us is free!