Fort Bend Drug Possession Attorney
Serving Fort Bend County and the Greater Houston Area
Getting arrested for drug possession is a scary, confusing, and frustrating
experience. A conviction carries harsh penalties, such as a lengthy jail
or prison sentence, fines worth thousands of dollars, and even the suspension
of your driver’s license. However, an arrest is not the same as
a conviction, you still have a chance to defend yourself with the help
of a skilled criminal defense attorney.
At The Sims Law Firm, PLLC, we are ready to help you avoid harsh penalties
and get your life back on the right path. Our firm's founder,
Brandon Sims, is a former prosecutor with over 13 years of experience on both sides
of the table that could to be invaluable to your case.
When you choose The Sims Law Firm, you gain:
- Passionate and experienced advocacy in the courtroom
- A skilled negotiator
- A detailed independent investigation of your criminal case
- Constant communication regarding updates of your pending criminal case
Ready to discuss your case with a Fort Bend drug possession attorney? Request
a FREE evaluation today by calling us at (713) 766-1445 or
Texas Drug Possession Laws & Penalties
If you are accused of being in possession of an illegal drug, you could
be facing serious penalties, including a jail or prison sentence. Depending
on the type of drug found in your possession, and the quantity of the
drug, you will also have to pay additional fines, have your license suspended
and gain a misdemeanor or felony conviction on your record.
Drug charges can be defended on various fronts.
The following are some of the criminal penalties for drug possession in Texas:
Marijuana possession – Possession of up to two ounces is a Class B misdemeanor, which
carries a jail term of up to 180 days and a fine no more than $4,000.
Possession of between two and four ounces is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable
by a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine of up to $4,000. Between
four ounces and five pounds is a state jail felony, punishable by a state
jail sentence of up to two years and a maximum fine of $10,000.
Cocaine or heroin possession – Possession of less than a gram of cocaine is a state jail felony.
Possession of between one and four grams is a third-degree felony, which
carries a maximum prison term of 10 years and a fine no more than $10,000.
Between four and 200 grams is a second-degree felony, punishable by imprisonment
for up to 20 years and a fine not exceeding $10,000.
Methamphetamine possession – Possession of less than a gram of meth is a state jail felony.
Possession of between one and 3.99 grams is a third-degree felony. Between
four and 199 grams is a second-degree felony.
If law enforcement alleges you were in possession of a large drug quantity,
prosecutors may seek to charge you with a more serious criminal offense
alleging your intent was to sell or distribute the controlled substance.
In this case, you will likely be facing
trafficking charges that carry enhanced ranges of punishment.
Turn to The Sims Law Firm, PLLC Today
For formidable defense to your criminal charges, reach out to us today.
As soon as we hear from you, our Fort Bend County drug possession lawyer
will begin creating a results-driven strategy for your case. As our client,
you can be sure that no rock will be left unturned in search of the strongest defense.
For more information on how we can help you, please do not hesitate to
contact our Fort Bend County possession attorney
as soon as possible.