First Time DWI Charges in Fort Bend County
Skilled DWI Defense Lawyer
While the penalties for a first time DWI charge are significantly less
than a second or third offense, they are still very serious and incredibly
inconvenient. If you’re convicted of driving while intoxicated,
the penalties you could face include fines, license suspension, jail time, and more.
If you’ve been arrested for DWI, you should contact an experienced
Fort Bend County DWI attorney as soon as possible. Many people think that the penalties will be less
if they simply plead guilty, but this is not the case. When you retain
Sims Law Firm, we can build a powerful defense to help you keep your license
and your freedom.
Hire a skilled DWI attorney who will fight for your best interests. Contact
Sims Law Firm today for a free case evaluation.
Consequences of a First Time DWI Conviction
In Texas, DWI is a serious offense and is enforced very aggressively by
law enforcement officers. If a police officer believes that you are driving
while intoxicated from alcohol or drugs, you may be arrested under suspicion of DWI.
If you’re convicted of DWI, you could face all of the following punishments:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Fines of up to $2,000
- A 2-year suspension of your driver’s license
- Enrollment in a DWI education or intervention program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device
- Annual driver’s license fees of $2,000 for 3 years
An experienced Sugar Land criminal defense attorney can help reduce or
eliminate these penalties. Call Sims Law Firm today at (713) 766-1445
for experienced representation.
Common Defenses Against First Time DWI Charges
It’s important to remember that a DWI arrest in Texas is actually
a “suspicion of DWI” arrest. Like any other crime, the burden
is on the prosecution to prove that you’re guilty. A skilled defense
lawyer will attempt to counter any incriminating evidence presented by
Some of the most common DWI defenses include:
- Rebutting the results of a Breathalyzer test
- Refuting the results of a blood BAC test
- Disputing the legality of the initial arrest
Don’t Plead Guilty to DWI Charges. Call Us Today!
If you’re facing a potential DWI conviction, it’s critical
to contact an experienced Fort Bend County DWI attorney. When you retain
Sims Law Firm, our Fort Bend criminal defense lawyer will look at the
unique details of your case, and will craft an effective defense strategy
with your expectations and goals in mind.
Don’t fight DWI charges alone. Contact our firm
for skilled counsel.